day fourteen: be still

Slide1“Be still and know that I am God.”

Sickness is irritating. Last night I couldn’t sleep because of an annoying cough. Just as I was about to drift into deep sleep, another coughing fit racked my body. Around 3:00am, I couldn’t “try” anymore. So for the next hour, I read through some 31-day articles that I had been wanting to read and discovered some new articles as well (such as this gem about self-identity and this one about body image). And then I lay in the quiet, listening to the sound of the wind, and prayed. It was one of those moments where I was still and just felt. I felt God’s calming presence around me and knew that He is sovereign. I meditated on the verse above. Sometimes it takes a restless night to be still.

Then this morning I looked up the verse. Turns out there is more to the verse than I was aware. When I would picture the verse, I envisioned the sky at midnight. Now I picture Judgement Day.

Psalm 46:10-11

(10) He says, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” (11) The Lord Almighty is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress.

When we look around at the world, it is so easy to get upset. I look at the headlines and I want to do something. I immediately think of how to fix the problem. If only everyone saw things from my perspective…can I get an amen?

Many times in the past month I’ve just wanted Jesus to come back and make everything right. Now. But I have to remember that God is sovereign. As much as I want Jesus to come quickly, His timing is perfect.

In the meantime, I don’t have to worry.

IMG_2371The Lord Almighty is with us — Jesus is present right now. The world may not be perfect, but He is still active. When I look up at the night sky and see the full moon, somehow everything seems right in the world. It’s a little reminder that the moon is a constant just as Jesus is a constant.

God of Jacob is our fortress — the same God who protected Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob is the same God who is with us today. His character has not changed.

So today, in the chaos, take time to be still. Reflect on God’s sovereignty. Be still and know that He is God. He is coming back someday, but for right now, He is here with you.

– – Phebe

(picture taken on the campus of William & Mary, when walking back to my dorm in the light of a full moon)

One thought on “day fourteen: be still

Leave a comment