day thirteen: be at rest (two)

Do you not know?
    Have you not heard?
The Lord is the everlasting God,
    the Creator of the ends of the earth.
He will not grow tired or weary,
    and his understanding no one can fathom.
He gives strength to the weary
    and increases the power of the weak.
Even youths grow tired and weary,
    and young men stumble and fall;
but those who hope in the Lord
    will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
    they will run and not grow weary,
they will walk and not be faint.

~ Isaiah 40:28-31 ~

Rest is a state of being. It is a condition of “being.” Living at rest means living in freedom. Theologian John MacArthur wrote, “Rest does not mean freedom from all nuisances and hassles; it means freedom from being so easily bothered by them.” 

Rest can become a lifestyle.

When I think of rest, I picture a tranquil lake, a soft sunset, or a cool breeze. What if I told you that your life can be like the lake, sunset, and breeze? Your life can be an expression of peace. 

Being at rest is having an inner peace that can only come through knowing Christ. Knowing His character allows us to trust Him. In our everyday life we choose to trust people who we have seen consistent displays of trustworthy character. So it is with God. Isaiah talks about God being wise, powerful, and everlasting. When we know these things about God, it becomes easier for us to trust Him with our lives.

I feel at rest when I fully rely on God. Resting in (and relying on) God means trusting that everything will work out in the end. Instead of needing to figure things out on my own, I trust that God will work out the details. I trust that God has a plan.

1c659ff5e3243482544d9bf0b095098d

Resting in God means going to Him when I feel weak. Life is draining. As soon as I feel the stress and pressure of life beginning to overtake my mind and body, I need to turn to Christ. He bestows His strength upon the weak. I have felt Him do it time and time again in my life. I know that God is strong because I have felt His power in me. Many times I have physically and mentally felt unprepared to complete a task. Almost every time I have spoken in front of people I have had some type of physical struggle right before. And every time God has given me exactly what I needed to communicate effectively. The same has been true of important tests or service projects. Over and over I have had to rely on God for his strength when I am simply not strong enough. Over and over He has shown himself faithful.

Sometimes resting doesn’t mean actually stopping. Sometimes resting is a spiritual peace that God gives. Even at our busiest moments, we can be at rest. Rest is a mindset of peace in all circumstances.

I leave you with a verse that I repeat to myself in situations where I do not have the strength to continue: “And the peace of God which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus,” (Philippians 4:7). 

God’s peace doesn’t make sense sometimes. Does it make sense to be at rest in the midst of finals? Or during preparations for an event? Or after the death of a loved one? No. But God isn’t in the business of fitting the mold.

We can rest, because God is our source of energy.

– – Phebe

One thought on “day thirteen: be at rest (two)

Leave a Reply

