Force of Grace

Force and Grace. Those two words seem to contradict each other.

When I think of “grace,” I often picture an elegant dancer or a delicate autumn leaf. I think of the Merriam-Webster definition: “simple elegance or refinement of movement.” Grace is soft and gentle. Certainly not furious and forceful.

I’ve written a lot about what it means to live in grace. Grace is my key word for this year. I’ve written about how God’s grace covers my sins and makes me worthy. And in a sense, I’ve written about how living a grace-filled life is simple, elegant, and refined, just like the traditional definition.

But, today I watched a video that made me think about grace a little differently. As 2014 draws to a close (just over a month left!), I want to reflect again on what grace means. When I think of grace manifested in the Bible, I see a cross, I see a prostitute, and I see a martyr. I see men and women who lived messed up lives but were redeemed by the grace of Jesus. His life and ministry transformed broken lives into things of beauty.

That’s grace. It doesn’t make sense. It’s powerful and mysterious. It changes lives. It’s not safe. Like a waterfall or an ocean wave, it sweeps over people to cleanse and refresh. Yes, grace is furious and forceful.

View the video below or follow the link here.

One thought on “Force of Grace

Leave a Reply

