day twenty-eight: be patient

There is a time for everything,
    and a season for every activity under the heavens:Slide1

a time to be born and a time to die,
    a time to plant and a time to uproot,
 a time to kill and a time to heal,
    a time to tear down and a time to build,
a time to weep and a time to laugh,
    a time to mourn and a time to dance,
a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
    a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing,
a time to search and a time to give up,
    a time to keep and a time to throw away,
a time to tear and a time to mend,
    a time to be silent and a time to speak,
a time to love and a time to hate,
    a time for war and a time for peace.

What do workers gain from their toil? I have seen the burden God has laid on the human race. He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.

~ Ecclesiastes 3:1-11 ~

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

I am so impatient.

Recently I’ve been feeling especially impatient. I want to know what my major is, I want to create a game plan, and I want to execute. I end up comparing myself to all the other freshman who know exactly what to do, and then I feel so wishy-washy about my own interests. I know what I love; I just don’t know what to do. AHHHH!!! (That’s me letting out my stress.)

My roommate and I have spent a lot of time talking about being patient. We feel like we’re always rushing from one thing to another. We feel like our brains are constantly in gear, with almost no time to relax. There’s always something we could be doing. We’re in constant motion — going somewhere, but not sure where we’re going. We are surrounded by people, yet we don’t feel known.

Today over lunch we reminded ourselves that we need to give ourselves grace. We are still adjusting to this adventure called college. The routine, friendships, confidence, and academic plan will come in time.

There is a time for everything. I have to remember to be patient. I am in the adjusting and learning stage right now. I don’t have to have everything figured out. In fact, I’m not expected to have everything figured out.

He has made everything beautiful in its time. This verse makes me thing of the Gungor song, that says, “You make beautiful things / You make beautiful things out of dust / You make beautiful things / You make beautiful things out of us.”

Beauty doesn’t happen overnight. God has His own timetable. Often, it is very different than ours. We are finite creatures who are ruled by time. God is an infinite being who rules time.

It is difficult for me to grasp that, because I like to be in control. I like things to be resolved quickly and I like conclusions. Yet God sees what I don’t. “For just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so my ways are higher than your ways and my thoughts higher than your thoughts,” (Isaiah 55:9). Earth’s outer atmosphere extends approximately 10,000 kilometers. That’s how much higher God’s thoughts are compared to ours!

Out of confusion and chaos, God creates order. Out of pain and sorrow, God creates beauty. Who am I to rush His perfect plan?

So as I feel impatient about everything that needs to be resolved (my future, my swollen finger, the dorm ping-pong table debate…), I will choose to embrace the right now. One can’t rush art, and our lives are pieces of artwork. God’s timing is perfect. Trust.

– – Phebe

013a1bac4db25de243b5d67d26be06c0
    

Leave a Reply

