day nineteen: the corner kettle

IMG_2216

For me, this series is all about learning what it means to “be” right where I am. My roommate and I have found it hard to relate to people on our hall without complaining. It’s true, struggles do bring people together, but Emily and I also want to be a light on our hall. Today, though, I found myself relating to a fellow hallmate through our mutual love of our dorm. So as an example to myself to be thankful, I thought I would recount some of the reasons I’m thankful for my dorm.

My dorm = the epitome of class and cuteness.

My dorm is a small dorm, which means I recognize all the faces of the other 76 people with whom I share a house. We have a porch, a sunroom, and two parlors (get that–parlors!). We even have an outside courtyard with picnic tables and a grill. One lazy Sunday afternoon, I took a nap in the courtyard, on the ground, beneath a tree, and soaked up the sun. It was glorious.

Living near Colonial Williamsburg (CW) means I get all the benefits of living in a colonial town. Emily and I bought cheesy souvenir mugs, which means we can journey into CW anytime for refills of hot apple cider, ice cream, or lemonade. And every time we enter in, we are bound to be greeted by a chorus of drums and fife or characters dressed in colonial garb. It’s like a dream come true for the once little girl who used to fantasize about living in the 18th century.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Even though we live a good walk from our classes and the other side of campus is twenty minutes away, we are so close to many shops and restaurants. The local farmers’ market is right down the street. And on random days, we will step outside the dorm to see an arts fair set up or live music playing.

We live within a community. I actually love seeing the tourists. They make me feel like I own the place. And I enjoy seeing young children, families, and grandparents. Sometimes it’s a good reminder that there’s life outside of college.

IMG_2051

I’m in love 🙂 “Being” is recognizing the positives of your current situation. Sure, life is not perfect on my hall (ahem, mice). But all in all, I am so thankful to have a beautiful place filled with lovely people to call home.

One thought on “day nineteen: the corner kettle

  1. I look forward to your daily blogs. I know it takes a lot of time but I enjoy them. You are a great writer.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

