day sixteen: be home

Slide1

21 For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain. 22 If I am to go on living in the body, this will mean fruitful labor for me. Yet what shall I choose? I do not know! 23 I am torn between the two: I desire to depart and be with Christ, which is better by far; 24 but it is more necessary for you that I remain in the body. 25 Convinced of this, I know that I will remain, and I will continue with all of you for your progress and joy in the faith, 26 so that through my being with you again your boasting in Christ Jesus will abound on account of me.

Philippians 1:21-26

I am back at college. Fall break was a wonderful time of renewal. Over the break, I was able to connect with old friends, spend time with family, and not worry about always having to be somewhere or do something. I didn’t really want to come back to school, although I mentally felt ready.

On the last night of break, my dad reminded me that college is my mission field. (Thank goodness for dads who are there to give us some perspective.) It’s where I am supposed to be right now. I’ve had eighteen wonderful years to spend with my family, and now I have a new calling. Family was my main purpose for the first part of my life. For the next four years, college is my purpose–the school, the learning, the people, the ministries.

Lately I’ve been feeling what Paul expressed in his letter to the Philippians. Somedays I long for my home in the suburbs. Other days I long for my eternal home in Heaven. But over the past weekend, I came to the realization that home is wherever I am. I make my home where I go. I’ve got a past home. I’ve got a future home. But right now? I belong in my present home. I belong where I am in the moment.

Right now is my calling.Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

If we thought of home as wherever we are, would that change things? For one, we wouldn’t always be setting our eyes on getting home, because we’re already there. Maybe we’d be a little more comfortable with the here and the now. Maybe we’d learn to rest where we are.

Paul was torn between two choices: He knew that living meant working as Christ did and sharing in His suffering. He also knew that dying meant being free from the troubles of this world and getting to actually live with Christ. But Paul realized that people needed him. God hadn’t called him to Heaven yet; God had called him to ministry on Earth. He needed to be present. As much as he longed for his eternal home, Paul knew that he belonged in his present home, for now.

Wherever you are, God has you there for a reason. You won’t always be there. God is going to call you to other places. Yet as long as you keep seeking His will, you’re home.

– – Phebe

10 thoughts on “day sixteen: be home

  1. Thank you for sharing! I agree that Home is wherever you are now…and we are here – where we are now – for a reason. God has his Master Plan for each of us; and where we are is where he will use us! Thank you for sharing your words and your wisdom…as a young person in college – I can rest assured that our future will be in good hands – yours, others like you – and God!!!

  2. WOW! You have no idea how much this spoke to me. I am glad you posted it on Facebook! I am in transition right now and for the past 3 years I have been okay with it, but lately I have been craving something more rooted and stable, but it probably won’t happen for at least another year. I know that doesn’t make sense, but I don’t want to give my whole life story in a comment 😉 Anyway, you are absolutely right and God has plans for you and I both right where we are.

  3. Thanks for sharing! I also learned this lesson when I went to college and I must say it did change quite a bit. Instead of longing for home or waiting for the day I graduate I embrace the HERE and NOW. And this is wonderful! I work with students who have no idea who college works, who seem to be lost in life, who need a home away from home. So we provide that and it’s great to see changes in them. So yes, college is a mission field and if you’re ready to embrace it you’ll be suprised! 🙂
    Good luck with your studies and building relationships! What do you study and where?

    • That’s so wonderful that you work with students! It’s much needed. I know that just in the past two months I’ve been blessed immensely by the adults who have felt called to share life with students.
      Thank you! I am studying at the College of William & Mary. Although I haven’t declared a major, I’m leaning towards studying English and Marketing.

  4. Our longing for another place though is evidence we weren’t made for this world. But yes we need to practice contentment. You have a lovely way with words dear. keep it up.

    • You are absolutely right! And eternity is another topic God has set on my heart. I hope to address how the two of them connect soon. Thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

