day eleven: be like Jesus

So technically it is already Sunday (shhh don’t tell), but for us college students the day is usually still going. This will be a short post, because I am tired and it has been a long day.

Life is so good, y’all. (It is so good that I need to use southern slang to accentuate the goodness.) Today was my first full day at home. It started with a delicious, fresh breakfast out with the family and a new haircut. The morning was rainy, but thankfully the sky cleared enough to go to the pumpkin patch with my grandma, aunt, and two cousins. We spent the afternoon eating (hotdogs, apple cider, and caramel apples…yum…) and enjoying the beauty of fall. Then we spent the evening laughing around the supper table and celebrating an early birthday for my sister.

Later tonight I was able to reconnect with one of my best friends. Fellowship is so good for the soul. And, oh, how wonderful to be known and loved and accepted for who one truly is.

While it was great to be reminded of all the great things about college, my friend and I also shared the struggles. The feelings of impatience came surging back: impatience over restlessness, immature guys, and friendships. I was sharing with my mom about feeling unsure and confused about the future. I like things to be definite and controlled. I like to know where life is going. She reminded me of God’s faithfulness through the college process. He led me to William & Mary and He will lead me through William & Mary. I can trust God.

She also reminded me of one of my favorite verses, Matthew 6:33.

Seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.”

When we are seeking God’s kingdom, the other things in life will fall into place. We often worry about discerning God’s will for our lives. During the college decision process, I learned that there is not always a right or wrong answer. Sometimes there are many good solutions. The most important thing is that we stay connected with God. When we have a healthy relationship with Him, He will provide. We will be blessed wherever we are when we are following His lead on a daily basis.

God’s will for us is to live a life that mimics Jesus. My mom reminded me tonight that I should be striving to be like Jesus: compassionate, selfless, gentle, and kind. 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 sums up God’s will for us in three steps.

Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

That’s it, folks.

Life is often confusing. I tend to worry about whether I am doing the “right” thing. I worry about whether I will miss something or make the “wrong” decision. As long as I am reaching to live a life like Jesus, I won’t be missing out; instead, I will be living in the fullness of life. It may not always look like it from the world’s standards, but Jesus’s way is the most fulfilling and life-giving path. I will still make mistakes, but I don’t need to worry. God is faithful.

Seek first His kingdom and His righteousness. Everything else will work out. It’s going to be okay.

– – Phebe

Leave a Reply

