day eight: it is well

Today is the second installment of Worship Wednesday. I want to share a song that I have been singing the past month—in the woods, in Intervarsity, in my room: “It is Well” by Bethel Music.

You can view the video below or click the link here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YNqo4Un2uZI.

Being “well” is one of the conditions of being. I was meditating on what the word means while worshipping God at the Crim Dell Ampitheater. As I sang and prayed with other William & Mary students, I was prompted to declare healing over the campus. Not only are students physically ill, but we are also spiritually and emotionally sick. There is so much fear and hurt from the pain of the past and the pressures of the present. We need peace and grace to move into the future.

I think “well” is being at peace in any situation. “Well” is a state of contentment.

Today I stumbled upon The Message version of Philippians 4:13. I found new meaning that I haven’t from the other versions of the verse (that are often misused out of context).

Whatever I have, wherever I am, I can make it through anything in the One who makes me who I am.”

Wow. I don’t even have words to expand upon this verse. I need to put this into practice.

But what an encouragement! We can “make it through anything” with Christ. He is there to sustain us and guide us. Our identity is placed in Jesus, and we can rest in the knowledge that no one can take that away. Yes, we will be given more than we can bear on our own. But with Jesus’s strength, we will come out victorious. That is why we can sing, “it is well with my soul.” Because no matter what life brings, God is in control.

Be in Jesus’s strength.

Be well.

“So let go, my soul, and trust in Him // the waves and wind still know His name.”

Leave a Reply

