day two: being in the grey

Slide1The first few weeks of college were incredible. They were full of sunny days accompanied by my sunny disposition. I was on a high from the excitement and newness of it all. But the past few days have been grey. Clouds cover the sky (literally). I am starting to feel dragged down by negativity.

Today was no exception. I didn’t get very much sleep. I woke up with a splitting headache. I had to spend double money to dry my laundry, because the dryer wasn’t working properly. I felt so tired and unmotivated. My shins hurt all the way to class, and I arrived to Psychology right as the lecture was starting. I had a Statistics midterm and forgot a formula. My roommate is struggling with calculus and technical difficulties. My friendships seem to not be going past the surface. I wanted to just drink some tea, curl up, and go to sleep.

But then a girl from College Republicans asked me if I wanted to go to supper before our weekly meeting. I was considering not going to the meeting (because I was feeling exhausted and unsocial), but her offer gave me a reason to go. The speaker turned out to be interesting and informative. Then I went to the weekly American Sign Language meeting, where I learned how to sign the lyrics to Taylor Swift’s “Shake It Off.” I felt the joy creeping back in to my heart as I danced and sang with the girls around me.

And… when I returned to the room, my lovely roommate had left me this note. Totally made the hardness of the day melt 🙂

IMG_2237

The truth is that hard moments will come.  As much as I hate to admit it, life isn’t always a sunny garden party. Life is hard, plain and simple.

Today I realized that my response to the difficulties should be a heart of gratitude. Negativity is a downward spiral. I find myself getting caught up in all the things I don’t like, instead of being thankful for the things I do. Life may be irritating, but my attitude doesn’t have to be.

“A joyful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries the bones.” (Proverbs 17:22)

All day my bones were becoming drier and drier. I had a crusty attitude to match. But a few simple acts of kindness completely brightened my day! I chose to leave behind the heat of the morning and embrace the coolness of the evening. When I started to rejoice, I began to feel better in body and spirit. (My headache even went away!)

Being in the grey means accepting that life will be tough and choosing to rejoice through the greyness.

Also, so thankful for this beautiful woman and her presence in my life! We purposefully twinned today and took a picture for proof 🙂

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

One thought on “day two: being in the grey

Leave a Reply

