My Prayer for William & Mary

“And I pray this: that your love will keep on growing in knowledge and every kind of discernment, so that you can determine what really matters and can be pure and blameless in the day of Christ, filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ, to the glory and praise of God.”

Philippians 1:9-11


In the past three weeks, I have fallen in love with the College of William & Mary. The people here are motivated, talented, and creative. The professors are knowledgeable, helpful, and inspiring. I love the sense of tradition. I love walking to my classes, surrounded by beautiful history. I love late night group collaborations in an empty theater. I love walking past tour groups and feeling like I am part of the campus. In just the past few days, I have started to feel as if I am truly home.

And as I have fallen in love with the campus, a fire has ignited in my heart for the souls of the students and professors. In the midst of the motivation, there is apathy. In the midst of the talent, there is loneliness. In the midst of the creativity, there is hopelessness. This week I was challenged by my small group to write a prayer for the people in my circle of influence.

Here is my Prayer for the College of William & Mary.

My prayer is that you would know peace that only comes through Jesus. That you would let go of the fear of failure and the need to be perfect. That you would not feel the need to be the best, but simply strive to do your best. In the rush of new opportunities, school assignments, and club responsibilities, may you trust that God is in control and experience His peace in the chaos.

I pray that you would find your worth in Jesus. In a culture that is constantly trying to mold you, may you stand firm in your identity. May you never question who you were created to be, knowing that you are fearfully and wonderfully made. May you never feel the need to compare yourselves with others. Know that you do not need to prove yourself, because Jesus was worthy enough for you.

I pray that you would direct your time and energy into things that matter. In a culture that is trying to push you in a million directions, may you have wisdom to discern priorities. Instead of filling your cravings with worldly and temporary satisfaction, I pray that you would be fully satisfied by the God who can fill all your needs. May you know His truth and then live a life that is set apart. In the darkness, may you be a light. In the loneliness, may you be a friend. In the hopelessness, may you hold on expectantly.

My prayer is that William & Mary would be a place that stands out in the world. That we would not only stand out for our commitment to excellence, but that we would also stand out for commitment to truth and grace. I pray revival over this campus. May we become a dynamic, engaging community that loves God and loves people.

2 thoughts on “My Prayer for William & Mary

  1. THIS!!!!!!! It’s ALL about this, Phebe!!! I just read this aloud to Ben in the middle of Starbucks. I am finding myself falling in love with your heart! It is so open and so true! I am praying this prayer with you!

Leave a Reply

