A Light in the Darkness

It’s been almost a week since move-in day. Actually, a week ago tonight I was sitting in the hotel room with my family and they were sharing their favorite memories of me. I was excited, uncertain, afraid, anxious, eager.

God has put to rest those fears and anxieties. A week into this journey, I can honestly say that I love college so far. I love the community of learning and fellowship. I love my peers and my professors. I love the sense of tradition and celebration.

I declare again, GOD IS FAITHFUL.

But there’s a lot of pain and hurt at college too. We’ve had to discuss a lot of sensitive issues, because they are real issues. And we’ve also had to deal with the suicide of a senior student on Monday morning. Yet in the midst of that pain, 1521 freshman walked through the halls of the Wren Building yesterday evening to officially become part of the William & Mary Tribe.

I’ve become more aware of the world’s brokenness in the past week. At the same time, I have become even more aware of God’s presence. HE IS HERE.

Last week, my friend Ellie sent me an excited text: “I wanted to let you know that God is at college, he’s waiting for you there, and you are going to be surprised by the grace there. :D”

How true. My roommate and I have been encouraged by the Christian community on campus. Simply by playing Christian music, doing Bible study outside, and being open about our faith, we have discovered other Christians who are eager to share in this adventure. We have been amazed at the presence of the Christian ministries on campus and their outpouring of support.

I came across this video today and it describes my thoughts perfectly. God is present on the campus of William & Mary. He is present in your workplace, your school, and your neighborhood. He is present in Iraq, Syria, and West Africa. HE IS HERE.

No matter what struggles you face, remember that darkness will never win. The light of Jesus has already defeated the world.

“The Light shines in the darkness, and the darkness can never extinguish it.” (John 1:5)

Keep shining!

– – Phebe

4 thoughts on “A Light in the Darkness

  1. Good Morning, Phebe,

    I could hear your beautiful voice speaking as I read. God is so faithful to let me know you are thriving, in such a meaningful way. And I needed to hear God’s promise, “The Light shines in the darkness and the darkness can never extinguish it” (John 1:5). How true…the enemy has been trying to snuff out the Light since the very beginning…ain’t gonna happen 🙂 The video was encouraging as well. We need to remind ourselves daily of all the good that God is accomplishing and of His faithful flock who is seeking to do His will. Last night I went to bed with a heavy heart: consumed with the darkness of news reports and the heaviness of school starting next week and not being prepared. Thank you for being faithful to God’s calling and sharing your thoughts. You have been an encouragement to your mama 🙂

    I love you,
    Mom

  2. I just found your blog and I wanted to say that I love it’s name! I also love how excited and encouraging you are! Thank you for your beautiful reminder of God being here! Thank you for your wisdom and encouragement, may God bless you!

Leave a Reply

