The Adventure Begins

I slept almost 12 hours last night, and still woke up feeling tired. Can someone say jet lag? I expect I’ll be sleeping a lot the next few days. Well, without further ado, here is the account from my first day of the trip. 

November 23, 2013

I am on my way to Africa! I am beyond excited. It has been an exhausting day – 3 hours to Millersburg, 4 hours to JFK, then a 3 hour wait in the airport. While we were waiting, it started snowing outside. Crazy to think we will be in 90 degree whether in less than a day. After some minor delays, we are finally up in the sky! I am nervous because the flight is 14 hours, but now on the plane, I am reminded of how much I love to fly. Now if only I can fall asleep.

I am so overwhelmed with God’s blessings. Mae, Cecelia, and Mom all gave me cards for the journey. Yesterday many friends and family sent me emails and texts of support. I know that our team is covered in prayer. Wouldn’t it be amazing if one person back home was praying each hour of our time there?

There could be some slight changes. It is the rainy season in Liberia, so it will be wet and muddy rather than the dry and sunny I imagined. I am hoping that the rain does not keep people away. Because of the rain, there is a chance that we may not be able to make it to Zorzor. But God has called us, so He has a plan! Trusting Him!

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

