Funny Provisions

Don’t you love God’s sense of humor? He sometimes has a funny way of providing for His children. (Not a “ha-ha” funny but a “not-what-I-expected” funny.)

I must confess that I was NOT happy about attending our last missions planning/training meeting today. For the past five months, we have been traveling up to Millersburg, PA to meet with our team. This is a three hour drive that requires my dad and I getting up early. And I do not like to rise overly early (being a homeschooler, I rarely wake up before 7:00am). Last night was a tough night at dance, so I got home feeling tired and stressed. The next morning I had to wake up at 5:00am to leave for PA – 6 hours total driving for a 2 hour meeting. Let’s just say I was very upset… to the point of a breakdown. I convinced myself that the meeting was not worth it. That dance was not worth it. That going to Liberia was not worth it. When you start down a road of negative emotions (and are tired, hungry, and dehydrated), it is extremely easy to say and think things that you don’t actually mean.

But God completely redeemed my attitude of “It’s not fair!” Yesterday morning I woke up tired, as I expected, but was able to sleep on the way up to PA. When we arrived, instead of feeling upset, I felt a sense of peace. The meeting turned out to be more helpful than I had thought. We shared our excitements and fears. For example, I am most excited to be in Africa, exploring a new culture and meeting the people. However, I am most anxious about the long traveling–14 hour plane rides and 7 hour bus rides–which often exhaust me. Then we sorted out many of the details, including medicine, packing, and accommodations. My anticipation started building as I began to picture myself in Liberia.

After our time of planning, we engaged in an hour of prayer and exhortation with some of our intercessors. I could feel the Spirit moving in the room as our intercessors shared words of encouragement, read Scripture, and prophesied over us. The time was truly special, and I left feeling more equipped to minister to the Liberians than I did that morning.  Some of the Scripture spoke to me so strongly, that I wanted to share it here.

Psalm 8:2 Because of Your adversaries, You have established a stronghold from the mouths of children and nursing infants to silence the enemy and the avenger.

The words of prophesy spoken with this verse were that God would use the children to change Liberia. The children we will be teaching are the next generation of Liberian leaders; therefore, any impact we make in their lives may directly influence the direction of their country. So exciting to imagine!

Jeremiah 1:4-10 The word of the Lord came to me, saying, “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.” “Alas, Sovereign Lord,” I said, “I do not know how to speak; I am too young.” But the Lord said to me, “Do not say, ‘I am too young.’ You must go to everyone I send you to and say whatever I command you. Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you and will rescue you,” declares the Lord. Then the Lord reached out his hand and touched my mouth and said to me, “I have put my words in your mouth. See, today I appoint you over nations and kingdoms to uproot and tear down, to destroy and overthrow, to build and to plant.”

Although many members of the team are young – five of us range in age from 12 to 17, God has called each one of us. None of us have any reason to fear, for God will give us the words to reach the people of Liberia.

So even though my attitude about going to PA was negative, God decided to turn my day around and make the early morning and long car ride worth it. My plan was that I’d be better off with more sleep; His plan was that I’d be better off with some encouragement and prayer.

– – Phebe

 

 
Leave a Reply

